top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatiso Ndumo

Mama You are Magic!

Updated: Nov 7, 2023



After attending the Mamamagic expo and being one of the expert speakers, I was so inspired to do more and so proud of just far I have come in my career, as a mother a wife and as an individual. Everything that I ever dreamed of and working hard towards is finally coming together in leaps and bounds like I never imagined!


This made me think, oh but mama, you are magic"'. There is so much that we do as women that is \just so miraculous, from conceptions, pregnancy, childbirth and post-partum right until we die that is taken for granted. However, we should never take for granted everything that we can accomplish as women, as mothers. We even go to lengths of overextending ourselves to the point where our mental health is compromised. After reading one of the SA mental health federation articles, which encouraged us to have a mental health day I was inspired.


What is a mental health day? It is "a break from work and other responsibilities so that you can recharge and rejuvenate your mind as well as your body. Doing this can help lower stress, improve your mood and how well you function, help you gain more motivation and positively impact your well-being." - SA Mental health Federation


What can one do on a mental health day? Well, do anything that makes your heart smile. Anything that makes your heart skip, anything that makes you feel exhilarated, rejuvenated, rested and peaceful. For me, as I write this blog all I did today was sleep, eat, journal and just catch up with friends and family.


Activities that I am planning to do for future mental health days:

  • Going for painting art classes

  • Going to art galleries

  • Going to markets

  • Solo dates at coffee dates

  • Book shops and to read and buy more books

  • Photography of new places and experiences

  • Gardening

  • Flower arranging for the home

  • Interior decor and design

  • Hiking

  • Date nights with my hubby

  • Girlfriend dates with friends

  • Sister dates with my sisters

  • Spending time with loved ones


You can only create magic when you are well-rested, rejuvenated and recharged. Go ahead and a have a mental health day!




For sake, for your child's sake!

Your OT boy mom

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Motherhood Milestones

You will not receive a load that you cannot bear! Our family attended our first wedding as a family of 4 and what a milestone to see what fine, beautiful, handsome, adorable boys we have raised. Amari

bottom of page