top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatiso Ndumo

MAMA BLOOMZ!




Growing up, I have always loved being in the garden appreciating the garden and landscape that my dad works so hard on as well as picking the flowers and arranging them into a beautiful bouquet in a vase. I enjoyed seeing how the well-arranged bouquet enhanced the dining room table and brought such a warm, inviting atmosphere to our home.


Since then, I knew that I flower arranging was a hobby of mine but didn't think that too much of it until I was in high school, and I participated in the annual flower show that took place every February at Jeppe High School for Girls. The flower show had different categories that one could participate in as well as get judged on their arrangement.

It was all so exciting for me to be introduced into a whole new world of florals. I got to learn that there were floral foams called oasis that one can use to arrange flowers in, learnt how to use the oasis as well as some techniques on arranging and cutting flowers etc. There was never a formal teaching method on this, but I learnt through doing and through observing others. I was rightfully in my element and would enjoy each and every minute of it while others took the day off or just were not interested in participating since this flower thing was not for them.


Once my arrangements were complete, I remember always wondering how my performance was judged and would look forward to seeing the outcome. For the most part, I would either be rated 'commended', or 3rd place. However, I remember getting a rating of 'first' and that for me was confirmation that I actually know what I am doing, I am actually quite talented at this craft. Still then, I didn't really take it to heart I just saw it as a talent and hobby of mine. Until a time in my life where I felt like I have no direction, I had taken a break from my tertiary studies and considered starting up my floral business, but I just never felt adequate enough or ready enough. Imposter syndrome got the best of me even after several encouragements from family and friends and so I just decided to park the whole idea.


I continued with my tertiary qualifications and then on my wedding day I decided to arrange my own bridal bouquet as well as the mini glass jar centre pieces. That was when I realized that I am very much capable of making wedding bouquets, centre pieces for different occasions and from then the florist in me was re-ignited. I offered my services to my friends who were getting married and did it as my gift to them but didn't really take it up as a business. It was only when I conceived my first-born son that I considered starting a floral business. I started making more arrangements then and after the birth of my second born son I continued to get a few clients and actually give a business a name.


Mama Bloomz, this name was inspired by the fact that through motherhood I bloomed! I started believing in the reality of my dreams a bit more, I started to fight for my true identity outside of motherhood and really pursue my own passions. It is through motherhood that I continue to create lovely blooms to bring a smile on people's faces and to motivate other moms to JUST BLOOM! This I do through my work as an occupational therapist, where I remind mothers of their self-concept and getting back to connecting with their own identity and also help mothers to find ways in which they can find their true purpose.


SO, MAMA, when in doubt JUST BLOOM!




For your sake

Your child's sake








Your OT boyMamma


30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Motherhood Milestones

You will not receive a load that you cannot bear! Our family attended our first wedding as a family of 4 and what a milestone to see what fine, beautiful, handsome, adorable boys we have raised. Amari

bottom of page